John Digweed enlists Jonathan Kaspar for Bedrock 200th release

- Advertisement -

Bedrock Records, which was founded in 1999, has contributed to establishing the sound of underground dance music for more than twenty years by releasing a consistent stream of excellent work from some of the most innovative and brilliant figures in the sector.

To celebrate the label’s historic 200th digital release, John Digweed and his production partner Nick Muir have asked renowned German DJ and producer Jonathan Kaspar to remix two extremely important songs from their rich back catalog.

The first track is Kaspar’s interpretation of Digweed & Muir’s Live Off The Grid, which was first made available in 2014 as a part of the landmark Traveller album. For this project, the duo worked with an unknown sci-fi author by the name of John Twelve Hawks. The remix by Jonathan Kaspar, which ups the tempo and contrasts the track’s deep, eerie spoken-word lyrics with sleek, futuristic synth samples, completely changes the record’s course.

John & Nick’s 2021 track, Stand Still, a standout element from their critically acclaimed Quattro album, is the focus of Jonathan Kaspar’s second remix in the collection. Jonathan Kaspar transforms Stand Still into a deeper, darker dance track by adding powerful basslines and a thumping beat to Digweed & Muir’s floating synths. The result is a wonderfully sophisticated underground cut.

Reflecting on Bedrocks 200th digital release, I am so proud of the sheer range of music and artists that the label showcases. I never wanted the label to have a specific sound, it’s always been about releasing great quality music and not jumping on the latest bandwagon. I have been a massive fan of Jonathan Kaspar for many years and he was the perfect fit to remix these two tracks from Nick and myself. We have a great schedule of releases for the rest of 2022 with some exciting album projects coming on top.

– John Digweed

I’m feeling super honoured to have had the chance to remix John and Nick for the 200th release of Bedrock. I was able to pick two tracks from their impressive back catalogue and went in the opposite direction with my remixes. I’ve played both remixes a lot in my recent gigs and I am very happy they will now the see light for everyone! On to the next 200!

– Jonathan Kaspar

Grab a copy on Beatport now!

Stream John Digweed & Nick Muir, John Twelve Hawks – Live Off The Grid / Stand Still (Jonathan Kaspar Remix) on Spotify:


1. Live Off The Grid (Jonathan Kaspar Remix)
2. Stand Still (Jonathan Kaspar Remix)

- Advertisement -

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Stay updated with all the latest news.

Owner and founder of House Nest.


Official playlist of House Nest featuring carefully selected high-quality songs.



George Smeddles delivers his most significant record of 2022 so far

UK artist George Smeddles returns with an eager follow-up...

Michael Anthony debuts on PinkStar Black with ‘Gargantua’

New York-based producer Michael Anthony debuts on the Swiss...

Martin Garrix and Breathe Carolina deliver a new festival banger ‘Something’

The exclusive new song "Something," which was co-released across...

Tube & Berger team up with Frank Klassen for a new single ‘Alive’

Alive, a remarkable collaboration between German musicians Tube &...